Summer 2017

To Read

Scan 2017-5-2 0002

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou
I’m almost ashamed I haven’t read her debut memoir yet, which I intend on changing this summer.

Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling
Something about books intended for children resonates with my soul. I’ve only gotten to Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, but I want to restart and complete the entire series this time!

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham
My sister read this and said it made her laugh out loud. If you’re a fan of Parenthood or Gilmore Girls, then reading about real-life Sarah/Lorelai alone will convince you it’s worth the read.

A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara
This one was suggested to me by my boyfriend, who has really terrific taste in books, so I’m going to attempt to conquer its 700 pages. Apparently it’s heavy and deals with a lot of emotional subjects, but the character development is superb.

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
I read this book in elementary school, but want to revisit it since I have a newfound love for the author, Madeleine L’Engle who touches on spirituality through story in the most effortless, yet equally moving way.

To Do

Scan 2017-4-11 0002

To Watch
Scan 2017-5-2 0002-3

  • Grand Budapest Hotel
  • Dope
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • Dunkirk
  • American Beauty
  • Mrs. Doubtfire

To Listen To

Scan 2017-5-2 0014-12

♡ Dear Evan Hansen Broadway Soundtrack

You may know the main guy, Ben Platt, from Pitch Perfect. He stars as Evan in this new Broadway musical. I hear the soundtrack is phenomenal.

♡ Gabrielle Aplin’s “Home”

My friend showed me this British artist and she has an incredible voice and the sweetest spirit that resonates to the listener. Think: Birdy meets female version of Ed Sheeran. For the full experience, check out her live performance on BBC Live Lounge.

♡ Kendrick Lamar’s new album, Damn

No explanation needed (!)

♡ Bob Dylan “Blowin’ in the Wind”

This song was released in the ’60s during a time of protest and discord. He wrote it before it was necessarily cool to be politically active. Fun fact: he performed it with Joan Baez at the March on Washington. For some reason, it reminds me of the time we’re in now. Its unifying message transcends time, applying as fully in 2017 as it did back then and I imagine it will continue to do so.

♡ The Velvet Underground

Admittedly, I know nothing about them, but I want to and aim to tackle their albums this summer.

♡ Cage the Elephant

Read: above.

♡ NPR’s TED Radio Hour

I recently discovered this podcast and it’s the perfect commute and/or getting-ready-for-the-day listen.

To Focus On

heartslogo

Patience + Consideration
Coming back from my freshman year, I’ll be used to speaking my mind, controlling my schedule, and being in charge of making all the small choices that come with each day. I want to consciously make an effort to have patience with and be considerate of my parents and siblings as I make the transition back into an environment where I’m not the chief decision maker. Practically, this means not always giving my opinion, being kind in my tone and in what I say, listening more than I speak, and going with the flow.

Mindfulness + Presence
I do my best to practice mindfulness at school, but habits inevitably fluctuate with changed environment, so I want to focus on being fully present moment to moment when I’m home, aware of myself, place, and people. I want to take time out of each day to listen and make myself aware of the current state of the world around me.

Leave a Reply

